Keeping your family safe in the car is one of the most important things you can do to keep your family healthy and happy. All passengers in your car should be buckled up. In North Carolina, children are required to use a car seat or booster seat until they are at least 8 years old or 80 pounds. Children should remain in a booster seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly on its own. A vehicle seat belt usually fits properly when a child is about 4 foot 9 inches tall and between 8 and 12 years of age. All children less than 13 years of age should ride in the rear seat.
Buckle Up Kids NC is a helpful website that covers North Carolina State Law, explains which seats are best for your child, and answers Frequently Asked Questions. Rear-facing seats for children less than 2 years of age, forward facing seats and booster seats for older children, and proper seat belt fit are all covered. Healthykids.org from the American Academy of Pediatrics is another helpful online resource.
Many of our area fire departments provide car seat checks for you and your family. Sorting out that first infant car seat isn’t easy – don’t be afraid to ask for help!
Don’t forget to set a good example for your children! Buckle up yourself and never text and drive.